The key to eating well is to enjoy a variety of nutritious foods from each of the five food groups. Foods in the five food groups are grouped by their type and their contribution of nutrients to Australian diets. Within each group, healthy choices are those that are lowest in saturated fats, added sugars and added salt.

Choosing a variety of nutritious foods, both from the five different groups and within each group, over the week and seasonally increases the likelihood of obtaining sufficient intake of all nutrients. Eating a variety of nutritious foods can protect our bodies from chronic disease and may also increase quality of life and longevity.

How much do we need each day?

Read more about how much we need each day

Fat, salt, sugar, alcohol

Read more about fat, sugar, and alcohol

Discretionary food and drink choices

Read more about discretionary food and drink choices

Frequently asked questions

Read more about frequently asked questions